In my shoes – Onyeka Michelle

IMG_5822

 

Onyeka Michelle is a 20-something year old Nigerian British woman living in London. She is a lifestyle and self-development blogger. Her day to day consist of replying and sending off emails. She is also often studying because she is a student. Because of her blog she also often attends events in the area which she can write about. She is also an Accredited Youth and Adult Mental Health First Aider. Here is her page: http://onyekamichelle.com/

“In My Shoes” Blog Series – Savio Paes

Meet Savio, better known as Sav. He is from Goa, India. His full time job is a Language Educator, teaching English. But since he constantly had thoughts and opinions in his head he decided to start a blog as well. “Blogging happened to me, mainly due to the constant thoughts that swarmed my mind during various parts of my day, and with no one to really share them with, I turned them into a blog post – and hence my blog was born,” Sav shared with me. He has quite the talent for writing and says it’s a gift from God that helps him relax. If there was one thing that he wanted shared more than anything it’s that the wonderful people of India may be different but they are not strange. “You just need to come to experience what it feels to be in Goa,” he added.

Here is his blog: The Extra Mile

In My Shoes Blog Series

For the month of October, and maybe a little longer, I’m going to be doing a blog series called “In My Shoes” I have an idea of sharing the lives of different bloggers all across the world and the different traditions, issues we faces, etc. I feel that a major problem facing America (and maybe other countries as well) is that we all stay in our corners and we don’t know other people’s cultures. I feel there would be more empathy if we understood each other. So that is the main purpose of this blog series I will be doing. Each week I want to do a different story about a different blogger in a different part of the world or different culture than mine. I want this to be done in love so there will be no hatred coming from me. And if won’t be tolerated in the comments. To kick this series off I’m going to write a little bit about myself. Next week it will be a different blogger from another country and/or culture.

Having to write about myself reminds me of filling out a dating profile online, which I happen to have quite a bit of experience in. It always feels awkward and like you have nothing to say although when you really think about, everyone’s life is interesting to someone. I think that because there is someone in the world who lives completely different than me and would appreciate to know about my regular life. At least I hope so because that’s what I’m about to do!

I am a 30 year old straight, single woman from northern Virginia in America. I have two businesses, Mary Kay and a videography business. And I also work part time at my church and I am a unit manager for my mother’s business. If you asked me what I would be doing at 30 when I was a child I don’t think this was it. I’m sure I thought I’d be married by now but that hasn’t been in my cards yet. And growing up I wanted to be a writer. I’m not too far away from that now doing videography. But I wanted to strictly be a poet. I loved writing poetry and still do. But I soon realized that I would not be able to make a living only doing that so I then took some journalism classes. But that seemed too competitive and strict for me. But all that changed when in my senior year I took a videography class and realized this blended my love of being creative and my love of writing. That’s how I ended up in this field.

Another thing that has affected who I am today is the college I went to for undergrad. It was an HBCU called Virginia State University. HBCU stands for historically black college or university. It is a list of schools that were created so that African American people could go to college back in the day when we weren’t allowed in at other schools. My high school was predominantly white so coming to this almost all black school taught me so much about myself and my history. If you want to learn more about that, read my blog post on this very subject.

To quickly wrap this up, the last big part of my life I’d like to discuss is my religious side. Although I don’t like using that word because I like to focus more on my relationship with God than anything else. I am a Christian and was raised up that way. I actually brought my parents to the church we attend now because I went to Vacation Bible School with a neighbor and loved it. VBS is basically a time in the summer, usually for a week, where kids and adults get together in different classes and learn about God through different lessons. And the younger kids do crafts as well. My relationship with God has gotten me through a lot of tough times because it feels good knowing you’re not alone and there is someone who you can toss all your burdens too. I respect everyone’s religions or lack thereof though. I would never want someone to tell me I was wrong for the way I think so I don’t do that to others as well.

So that was a walk in my shoes. Did you enjoy it?!?! I would REALLY love any questions or comments you have this week especially since this one is so personal. And if you would like to participate, please fill out this form and we will chat. Also don’t forget to follow my blog by pressing the button at the bottom of the page.